TOPPENISH CITY COUNCIL Study Session Minutes January 2, 2024

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Saavedra called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present: Mayor Elpidia Saavedra, Mayor Pro Tem Loren Belton, and Councilmembers

Naila Duval, and George Garcia

Absent: Councilmembers Joshua Garza and Cristian Sanchez

Staff Present: City Manager Debbie Zabell (CM Zabell), City Attorney Gary Cuillier, Chief of

Police John Clary, , Budget and Finance Director Adam Vaughn (FD Vaughn),

Police Captain Jospeh Mehline, Public Works Superintendent Shaun Burgess (PWS Burgess), Public Works Maintenance Technician Chris Jones, Finance

Technician I Briana Campos, City Clerk Heidi Riojas (CC Riojas), and Human

Resource Generalist Mary Beltran (HRG Beltran)

HRG Beltran conducted roll call for each City Councilmember to respond their attendance at the meeting. Mayor Saavedra, Mayor Pro Tem Belton, and Councilmembers Duval and Garcia responded their attendance during roll call. Councilmembers Garza and Sanchez were not present at the meeting.

Councilmember Duval moved, seconded by Councilmember Garcia to excuse Councilmember Garza from the January 2, 2024, Study Session. Motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Councilmember Duval moved, seconded by Councilmember Garcia to approve the January 2, 2024, Agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

NEW EMPLOYEE INTRODUCTION

PWS Burgess introduced Public Works Maintenance Technician Chris Jones to the Council.

FD Vaughn introduced Finance Technician I Briana Campos to the Council.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None.

SWEARING IN OF REAPPOINTED OFFICIALS

CC Riojas administered the Oaths of Office to the following:

- Councilmember George Garcia for Position #5, for the term of office from January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2027
- Councilmember Naila Duval for Position #6, for the term of office from January 1, 2024, through November 25, 2025
- Councilmember Loren Belton for Position #7, for the term of office from January 1, 2024, through November 25, 2025.

SELECT MAYOR FOR 2024 AND 2025

Mayor Saavedra called for nominations for the position of Mayor for 2024 and 2025. Mayor Saavedra nominated herself to be Mayor for 2024 and 2025. After calling out for nominations three times, Mayor Saavedra closed nominations for the position of Mayor for 2024 and 2025. The vote was unanimous to reelect Mayor Saavedra from January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025

SELECT MAYOR PRO TEMPORE FOR 2024 AND 2025

Mayor Saavedra called for nominations for the position of Mayor Pro Tem for 2024 and 2025. Mayor Saavedra nominated Mayor Pro Tem Belton. After calling out for nominations three times, Mayor Saavedra closed nominations for the position of Mayor Pro Tem for 2024 and 2025. The vote was unanimous to reelect Mayor Pro Tem Belton from January 1, 2024, through December 31, 2025.

SEATING OF COUNCIL

The Councilmembers, according to seniority, chose their seating arrangement.

SET DATE FOR COUNCIL CANDIDATE INTERVIEWS TO FILL CITY COUNCIL VACANCY FOR POSITION #4

CC Riojas reported that the City is accepting applications for the City Council Vacancy for Position #4 until 5:00 p.m. on January 19, 2024. The interviews for Council Candidates will be conducted during the January 22, 2024, Regular Meeting..

SELECT MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES FOR 2024 AND 2025

Boards and Commissions Selection Committee - 3 Members

Mayor Pro Tem Belton, Councilmember Duval and Councilmember Garcia agreed to serve on the Boards and Commissions Selection Committee.

Cable Regulation Board – 1 Member, 1 Alternate

Mayor Pro Tem Belton agreed to be the member and Councilmember Garza as the alternate to serve on the Cable Regulation Board.

Driving Rural Yakima Valley Economy – 1 Member, 1 Alternate

Mayor Pro Tem Belton agreed to be the member and Councilmember Garcia as the alternate to serve on the Driving Rural Yakima Valley Economy.

Public Safety Committee – 3 Members, 1 Alternate

Councilmember Duval, Councilmember Garcia and Councilmember Sanchez agreed to be the members and Mayor Saavedra as the alternate to serve on the Public Safety Committee.

Yakima County Gang Commission – 1 Member, 1 Alternate

Mayor Pro Tem Belton agreed to be the member and Mayor Saavedra as the alternate to serve on the Yakima County Gang Commission.

Yakima County-Wide Planning Policy Committee – 1 Member

Mayor Pro Tem Belton agreed to serve on the Yakima County-Wide Planning Policy Committee.

SELECT YAKIMA VALLEY CONFERENCE OF GOVERNMENTS MEMBER AND ALTERNATE FOR 2024

Councilmember Duval agreed to be the member and Councilmember Garcia as the alternate to represent the City for 2024 with the Yakima Valley Conference of Governments.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Council, the meeting was adjourned at 5:18 p.m.

ELPIDIA SAAVEDRA, MAYOR

HEIDI RIOJAS, CMC, CITY CLERK